Ghost Of My Past

Drivin’ down the road, when I see a ghost pass

Check it in the rearview mirror, and all I see is my past

Don’t quite understand why it’s flashin’ by so fast

But the future isn’t clear, so these times have gotta last

It’s a, once in a lifetime, kind of situation

That’ll follow you forever, an amazing sensation

Can’t let it pass you by, or you’ll drown in regret

Never fail to try, because the sun has yet to set

Pull into the driveway, open the door

A strange sense follows never felt before

Something grabs a hold, and it’s not letting go

And the worries of my past start to take control
The mistakes blind my vision, bring me down to my knees

The memories come back, and my veins begin to freeze

A couple hours pass and the pain begins to ease

These events that I’ve repressed are becoming a disease

Walkin’ up the stairs and the picture frames remain,

Empty, but the photos are imprinted in my brain

Headin’ up, but going down with nothing left to gain

Make it to the hallway and I know I’m goin’ insane

Doorway to the room where we spent all of our time

Searchin’ for something that I don’t wanna find

Everything is different, nothing’s got the same shine

Guess I gotta start over, Gotta start a new design

Drivin’ down the road, when I see a ghost pass

Check it in the rearview mirror, and all I see is my past

Don’t quite understand why it’s flashin’ by so fast

But the future isn’t clear, so these times have gotta last

It’s a, once in a lifetime, kind of situation

That’ll follow you forever, an amazing sensation

Can’t let it pass you by, or you’ll drown in regret

Never fail to try, because the sun has yet to set

Fall into the bed, can feel the rush of your skin

It kills me just to know that it won’t happen again

Staring at the ceiling, eyes blank, mind wide

In the middle of a crowd, I’m just trying to hide

My mind is shutting down, I’m about to give in

No, I won’t let this happen, you’re not gonna win

White sheets , black dress, high heels on the floor

Fuck all of this shit I can’t take it anymore

Packin’ up, Movin’ out, don’t know what it’s all about

Don’t know why letting go is filling me with all this doubt

I know its not gonna happen, you won’t come back now

I guess that it’s all over, and it’s time to take a bow

Leave this town behind, there’s nothing for me here

Goin’ some place new, but I’m not quite sure where

I’m gonna start new, gonna make this time matter

Cuz you know that life don’t serve gold on polished silver platter

Drivin’ down the road, when I see a ghost pass

Check it in the rearview mirror, and all I see is my past

Don’t quite understand why it’s flashin’ by so fast

But the future isn’t clear, so these times have gotta last

It’s a, once in a lifetime, kind of situation

That’ll follow you forever, an amazing sensation

Can’t let it pass you by, or you’ll drown in regret

Never fail to try, because the sun has yet to set

The sun has yet to set on this city, on this town

Don’t know where I’m goin’ but I don’t wanna drown

In regret from my past, it’s flashin’ by so fast

The future isn’t clear, but there’s no room for me here

It’s a once in a lifetime, lifetime

Situation

Never fail to try, Never fail to try, no regret

Never fail to try because the sun has yet to set

~ by SubReal87 on September 20, 2011.

Please Share Your Thoughts or Feelings :)

 
