Take It Back (If I Could)

Made one simple phone call, after a summer spent apart
With cables on her heart, I couldn’t jump it to a start
Let’s part our separate ways, from the days we’d never stray
Realizing that it’s over, is realizing I can’t stay
Like this forever, and I play it over in my mind
Next time I’ll get it right, unless the loves once again blind
The 20/20 hindsight, proves I could have done it right
But I chose to do it wrong, now the day turns into night
So young and so naïve so mac downhill and cold I-Ski
If you could see what I would be, before you set me free
Maybe then you’d recognize how much your presence changed me
And I believe that one day, I’ll find where I belong
but
Until then I guess I’ll hold my head up high, and stay strong
I’ll tag along, this mess is said to be the end of me
Depend on me, and then you’ll see, the side of me, I’ll
Guarantee, you’ll never want to set me free, love in the first degree

I shoulda stuck it out, I shoulda thought again
I should have known when I let you go, I’d lose you as a friend
The things that you can’t change in life are the things you miss the most
And my footsteps are still haunted by the shadows of your ghost

Go back to The Island, in the middle of the winter
Beathing’s heavy, air is frozen, memories are bitter
And the windows fogging up, with a young couples love
its
So pure and so true, but then the love wasn’t enough to
Get him by, things got rough, he shaved his life away like scruff
And it so was tough to bring about movin’ on so quick
But its the taste of her lips, that’s so real, I can’t forget
The smell of her shampoo, the smooth swaying of her hips
As we’re walking in the park, on the night her whole life flipped
She comes to me for comfort, when the walls are closing in
The temptation is insane, my control is growing thin
In the wind, I hold her close to feel the warmth from within
I can feel her heart beat, but her blue eyes have fallen dim
I know I messed up bad, when I decided on a whim
I’m left with all the memories that won’t happen again
But I kept with me the keys, to your heart, so deep within

Thought I had another chance, wasn’t sure it was too late
Fireworks all around us, I was caught up in her gaze
It seemed the days had passed me by, was diving through a haze
Darkness slowly swallowed light as I said goodbye and waved
Then she left again, and now we’re three hundred miles away
She’s running even faster at an unexpected rate
If I could stop her now, I have no clue what I would say
Just to talk to her again, would make everything okay
So many things that had happened I wish that I could change
If I got to do it over, things wouldn’t be the same
I’d capture all the promises, and forfeit all the games
Show you I can do it right, and i’m rightfully to blame
It’s unbelievably insane, how much time has passed by
Since I first held you closely, in the middle of twilight
How you changed my life that night, you’ll forever be inside
I might see you again sometime, for now this is goodbye

I shoulda stuck it out, I shoulda thought again
I should have known when I let you go, I’d lose you as a friend
The things that you can’t change in life are the things you miss the most
And my footsteps are still haunted by the shadows of your ghost

~ by SubReal87 on September 19, 2011.

One Response to “Take It Back (If I Could)”

  1. […] What The Winter Brings, I Know I Messed Up Miserable At Best – Mayday Parade – (I’d Take It Back) Flypaper – Allister – (Listen To It Every Night On My Way) Definitely Maybe – FM […]

Please Share Your Thoughts or Feelings :)

 
